top of page

Warkworth Town Hall

3pm Sunday 13 June 2021

Free Family Concert


For Leys Orchestra's return to Warkworth, the programme is headlined with the beautiful Concertante for Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn and Orchestra second movement by Crusell. This Finnish-Swedish conductor, composer and virtuoso clarinetist wrote three clarinet concertos, but is perhaps best known for his Concertante. 

We are proud to perform 'Pohutukawa', a new work by well-known NZ composer David Hamilton (a former conductor of the orchestra), which we premiered at last year's Auckland Heritage Festival. This evocative work was written specially for and dedicated to Leys Orchestra. 

The concert also features the languid second movement from Mozart's 'Clarinet Concerto' with soloist Terry Childs,  and the 'Overture in D Minor' by German romantic composer Emilie Mayer, which is the fourth of her more than 15 concert overtures.

The programme also includes 'Idyll' and 'Danse Villageoise' from Chabrier's Suite Pastoral, 'Ricercar' by Gabrieli, and a fanfare by Monteverdi. 

Admission is free.

Concertante for Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn and Orchestra (2nd movt)

Overture in D Minor

Clarinet Concerto in A (2nd movt)

'Idyll' and 'Danse Villageoise' from Suite Pastoral





Terry Childs

Miriam Croucher

Jill Ferrabee

Berhard Crusell

Emilie Mayer

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Emmanuel Chabrier

David Hamilton

Andrea Gabrieli

Claudio Monteverdi



French Horn

You are welcome to meet the orchestra over light refreshments at the conclusion of the performance. 

bottom of page